User Tools

Site Tools


player_s_guide_appendix_b

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
player_s_guide_appendix_b [2019/05/01 09:51]
triptycho [Hybrids]
player_s_guide_appendix_b [2019/05/01 10:00] (current)
triptycho [Deckless NPCs]
Line 47: Line 47:
 ===== Deckless NPCs ===== ===== Deckless NPCs =====
  
-Mini-boss and boss rank [[adversary|adversaries]] and [[opponent|opponents]] normally draw cards. If the DM lacks cards or doesn'​t want to use them, use these rules to boost these NPCs instead+Mini-boss and boss rank [[adversary|Adversaries]] and [[opponent|Opponents]] normally draw cards. If the DM lacks cards or doesn'​t want to use them, use these rules to boost these NPCs instead.
- +
-=== Turn Sequence === +
- +
-Deckless NPCs do not draw cards in their Draw Phase or discard cards in their Discard Phase. They still have all four turn phases to account for things such as resolving effects. Deckless NPCs cannot spend their Strategy Phase to attempt to draw a card.+
  
 === Draw & Discard Effects === === Draw & Discard Effects ===
  
-If a deckless NPC that is not [[Player'​s Guide Appendix A|Confused]] or defeated is subject to an effect that allows it to draw a card, it may instead play an available Strategy, including performing a Block, swapping Gear, attempting to escape while Grabbed, and any other activity that can normally be performed in the Strategy Phase. ​The Dazed condition ​still prevents playing Strategy entries, but the other options remain available.+If a deckless NPC that is not defeated ​or otherwise blocked from drawing cards (by some effect) ​is subject to an effect that allows it to draw a card, it may instead play an available Strategy, including performing a Block, swapping Gear, attempting to escape while Grabbed, and any other activity that can normally be performed in the Strategy Phase. ​Effects that prevent playing Strategies ​still apply those restrictions.
  
-If the effect allows for drawing more than one card, each card after the first can be converted into HP or WP as appropriate. Each card after the first is worth half the NPC's level, rounded up, in recovery. This effect does not apply if the NPC is Confused or defeated.+If the effect allows for drawing more than one card, each card after the first can be converted into HP or WP as appropriate. Each card after the first is worth half the NPC's level, rounded up, in recovery. This effect does not apply if the NPC is defeated.
  
 If a deckless NPC is subject to an effect that requires them to discard a card to either avoid or gain some other effect, it may choose to take damage equal to half its level, rounded up, per card that should be discarded. If there is no effect listed in the case of not discarding, the NPC must take the damage. If a deckless NPC is subject to an effect that requires them to discard a card to either avoid or gain some other effect, it may choose to take damage equal to half its level, rounded up, per card that should be discarded. If there is no effect listed in the case of not discarding, the NPC must take the damage.
Line 69: Line 65:
 Bosses normally come with additional cards that complement their design. These are often integral to their function. The DM should devise new abilities custom to each boss to replace the lost cards. If this is not feasible, it's best to avoid using the boss. Boss entries in the online Analects include suggestions for deckless use. Bosses normally come with additional cards that complement their design. These are often integral to their function. The DM should devise new abilities custom to each boss to replace the lost cards. If this is not feasible, it's best to avoid using the boss. Boss entries in the online Analects include suggestions for deckless use.
  
-=== Conditions ​=== +=== Stat Tracks ​===
- +
-A deckless mini-boss that is Confused cannot play its bonus second Action on its turn regardless of the dice roll.+
  
-A deckless ​mini-boss that is Muddled rolls 1d4 instead of 1d6 to attempt ​to play two Actions ​on its turn (provided it is not also Confused).+Deckless ​mini-bosses at -2 Mind roll 1d4 instead of 1d6 to try to gain a second Action ​on their turn. Deckless mini-bosses at -4 Power or -4 Mind cannot roll dice to attempt to gain an extra attack.
  
-A deckless boss that is Confused or Muddled should have unique penalties depending on how the DM has tweaked the boss to function without cards.+In all other circumstances,​ apply the effects reserved for mooks and regulars ​to deckless mini-bosses and bosses.
player_s_guide_appendix_b.txt · Last modified: 2019/05/01 10:00 by triptycho