User Tools

Site Tools


player_s_guide_chapter_3

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
Next revision
Previous revision
player_s_guide_chapter_3 [2019/02/05 08:26]
triptycho [Injuries]
player_s_guide_chapter_3 [2019/07/10 12:43] (current)
triptycho [Injuries]
Line 14: Line 14:
 ==== Basic Setup ==== ==== Basic Setup ====
  
-Collect your deck for the matching scenario type (setting the other two decks aside for now) along with the deck's [[role|role]] card. If the DM announces to draw hands for exploration,​ for instance, and your exploration ​role is the Hunter, then you will collect (and shuffle, if necessary) your Hunter deck as well as your Hunter ​role card.+Collect your deck for the matching scenario type (setting the other two decks aside for now) along with the deck's [[role|Role]] card. If the DM announces to draw hands for exploration,​ for instance, and your exploration ​Role is the Hunter, then you will collect (and shuffle, if necessary) your Hunter deck as well as your Hunter ​Role card.
  
 You should have all [[Gear|Gear]] cards previously collected and arranged in the play area before you begin. ​ Once you have drawn your initial hand of cards, you cannot change your [[equip|equipped]] Gear without spending your [[Strategy Phase|Strategy Phase]] to do so (more on this later). You should have all [[Gear|Gear]] cards previously collected and arranged in the play area before you begin. ​ Once you have drawn your initial hand of cards, you cannot change your [[equip|equipped]] Gear without spending your [[Strategy Phase|Strategy Phase]] to do so (more on this later).
  
-You and each other player draw five cards from the appropriate role decks. These five cards make up your initial handCertain DM-controlled entities may also draw cards for an initial hand.+Next, set up your [[stat track|Stat Tracks]]; each Track has a base value of 0 modified by your Role, [[background|Background]],​ and any Gear having such effectsUnless otherwise stated, base values cannot go below -2 or above +2. If you're using a Stat Track mat, place counters in the base value positions and more counters in the corresponding slots to track current values.
  
-If this is a [[combat|combat]] or [[interaction|interaction]] scenario, it's time to roll [[initiative|Initiative]]. Exploration scenarios don't use Initiative; for those, skip ahead to Turn Order.+If this is a [[combat|combat]] or [[interaction|interaction]] scenario, it's time to roll [[initiative|Initiative]]. Exploration scenarios don't use Initiative; for those, skip ahead to Round Sequence.
  
 ==== Rolling Initiative ==== ==== Rolling Initiative ====
Line 30: Line 30:
 You may voluntarily set your Initiative value to any positive number less than or equal to the actual Initiative rolled; in this manner, players may choose to start later than their roll would otherwise indicate. This must be done before the first entity takes their turn, however. NPCs cannot change their Initiative results in this manner unless otherwise specified. You may voluntarily set your Initiative value to any positive number less than or equal to the actual Initiative rolled; in this manner, players may choose to start later than their roll would otherwise indicate. This must be done before the first entity takes their turn, however. NPCs cannot change their Initiative results in this manner unless otherwise specified.
  
-==== Turn Order ====+===== Round Sequence =====
  
-If initiative was rolled, turns proceed in order according to the Initiative values. The [[entity|entity]] ​with the highest result goes first. Players win ties for Initiative. If multiple players tie, they can decide among them who will go first; if there is disagreement that is not quickly resolved, the DM will decide for them.+Each round in a scenario plays out in the following sequence: 
 + 
 +  - [[draw phase|Draw Phase]] 
 +  - [[turn phase|Turn Phase]] 
 +  - [[discard phase|Discard Phase]] 
 + 
 +==== Draw Phase ==== 
 + 
 +In the first round, each [[entity|entity]] that draws cards draws to their [[hand limit|Hand Limit]]. This value is typically 5 but may be modified by your starting Mind value and other effects. 
 + 
 +In subsequent rounds, you and each other entity that draws cards draw 1 card; if you have no cards remaining to draw, instead shuffle your discard pile to reform your deck and do not draw a card. Mind and other effects may increase or decrease this amount (which may allow you to then draw a card after shuffling your discard pile). 
 + 
 +After drawing, you and each other entity moves each Stat Track counter //that did not move during the previous round// 1 slot closer to the base value. This is easiest to track by using 2 different counters for Stat Tracks. When a Track is moved during around, swap the counter to denote this. Then, in this phase, after moving all the other tracks, swap the counters for any that moved back to the original. 
 + 
 +For instance, let's say you have black and green counters for tracking stat positions. At the beginning of the scenario, you place black counters in your initial positions. During the first round, your Power and Skill both go up 1, so you swap those counters with the green ones. On the next Draw Phase, you have no stat tracks to move, so you simply swap your Power and Skill counters back to the black ones. 
 + 
 +In the next round, your Power goes up again, so you swap that counter back to green; however, your Skill does not move. So, in the following Draw Phase, you move the black Skill counter back to the base value, then swap the green Power counter with a black one. 
 + 
 +In this manner, you never have to worry about trying to remember which Tracks did or didn't move within the previous round. 
 + 
 +==== Turn Phase ==== 
 + 
 +If initiative was rolled, turns proceed in order according to the Initiative values. The entity with the highest result goes first. Players win ties for Initiative. If multiple players tie, they can decide among them who will go first; if there is disagreement that is not quickly resolved, the DM will decide for them.
  
 In exploration scenarios, certain DM [[Challenge|Challenges]] act first, followed by the players in whichever order they choose, then the remainder of the DM's Challenges at the end of the round. As before, if there is disagreement among players for turn sequence that isn't quickly resolved, the DM will determine the order. In exploration scenarios, certain DM [[Challenge|Challenges]] act first, followed by the players in whichever order they choose, then the remainder of the DM's Challenges at the end of the round. As before, if there is disagreement among players for turn sequence that isn't quickly resolved, the DM will determine the order.
  
 +==== Discard Phase ====
 +
 +First, if there are any effects that occur at the end of the round (other than ones that explicitly affect discarding),​ they happen now. After all such effects are resolved, each entity with cards must discard down to their Hand Limit (if over), simultaneously resolving any effects that occur during the discard. The round is now over; the next round (if any) begins with a new Draw Phase.
 ===== Turn Sequence ===== ===== Turn Sequence =====
  
 Each entity'​s turn consists of the following phases, which must be performed in this order: Each entity'​s turn consists of the following phases, which must be performed in this order:
  
-  - [[Draw Phase|Draw Phase]]+  - Start of Turn
   - [[Strategy Phase|Strategy Phase]]   - [[Strategy Phase|Strategy Phase]]
   - [[Action Phase|Action Phase]]   - [[Action Phase|Action Phase]]
-  - [[Discard Phase|Discard Phase]]+  - End of Turn
  
-==== The Draw Phase ====+==== Start of Turn ====
  
-The Draw Phase consists of a sequence ​of three steps, which must be performed in this order:+There are two steps that may occur at the start of your turn. These steps are skipped if they don't apply.
  
   - Resolve [[incantation|Incantations]]. Skip this step if you are not incanting. This will be explained further in the combat chapter.   - Resolve [[incantation|Incantations]]. Skip this step if you are not incanting. This will be explained further in the combat chapter.
   - Resolve effects that occur or end at the beginning of your turn. Unless otherwise specified, effects are resolved in the order they were bestowed.   - Resolve effects that occur or end at the beginning of your turn. Unless otherwise specified, effects are resolved in the order they were bestowed.
-  - Draw a card. If you have no cards left to draw, shuffle your discard pile back into your deck, but do not draw a card.+
 ==== The Strategy Phase ==== ==== The Strategy Phase ====
  
Line 57: Line 82:
  
   - Draw another card.  If you have no cards left to draw, shuffle your discard pile back into your deck, but do not draw a card.   - Draw another card.  If you have no cards left to draw, shuffle your discard pile back into your deck, but do not draw a card.
-  - Play a [[Strategy|Strategy]] card or use a Strategy entry on Gear card you have equipped. +  - Play a [[Strategy|Strategy]] card or use a Strategy entry on Gear you have equipped. 
-  - Change equipment. ​ You can swap any one Gear card for another of the same slot, equip a Gear card into an empty slot, or remove Gear without equipping something new in its place. ​ If you have equipped two one-handed pieces of Gear, you can remove them both, and you can equip two one-handed pieces of Gear if you have the hands available to hold them.  You cannot change your [[armor|armor]] or [[clothing|clothing]] within a scenario unless otherwise specified. ​ In combat or exploration,​ you can also pick up an object from the ground as a part of this operation. ​ In combat or exploration,​ you can drop Gear on the ground or hand it to an ally even if it is equipped; doing so is free and **does not** require spending your Strategy Phase (unless you wish to equip something new in its place). +  - Change equipment. You can swap any one Gear card for another of the same slot, equip a Gear card into an empty slot, or remove Gear without equipping something new in its place. If you have equipped two one-handed pieces of Gear, you can remove them both, and you can equip two one-handed pieces of Gear if you have the hands available to hold them. You cannot change your [[armor|Armor]] or [[clothing|Clothing]] within a scenario unless otherwise specified ​(most commonly allowed in exploration). In combat or exploration,​ you can also pick up an object from the ground as a part of this operation. In combat or exploration,​ you can drop Gear on the ground or hand it to an ally even if it is equipped; doing so is free and **does not** require spending your Strategy Phase (unless you wish to equip something new in its place). 
-  - Combat only: you can [[Block|Block]] ​2 adjacent ​borders in your occupied section.+  - Combat only: you can [[Block|Block]] borders in your occupied section ​(more on this later).
 ==== The Action Phase ==== ==== The Action Phase ====
  
-During your Action Phase, you can play an [[Action|Action]] card or play an Action entry on a Gear card you have equipped. ​ This is generally where you [[attack|attack]] enemy targets, though other Actions exist as well.+During your Action Phase, you can play an [[Action|Action]] card or play an Action entry on a Gear card you have equipped. This is generally where you [[attack|attack]] enemy targets, though other Actions exist as well.
  
-Hostile Actions are considered attacks and permit a [[Reaction|Reaction]] play from the target. ​ Reactions include means of defense or countering, often played in an attempt to cause the Action to fail.  If the target cannot play a Reaction for whatever reason (such as if they have none available or as a result of [[Player'​s Guide Appendix A|conditions]]), the Action automatically succeeds.+Hostile Actions are considered attacks and permit a [[Reaction|Reaction]] play from the target. ​ Reactions include means of defense or countering, often played in an attempt to cause the Action to fail.  If the target cannot play a Reaction for whatever reason (such as if they have none available or as a result of Resilience penalties), the Action automatically succeeds.
  
-==== The Discard Phase ====+==== End of Turn ====
  
-The Discard Phase consists of a sequence of two steps, which must be performed in this order: +Resolve effects that occur or end at the end of your turn. Unless otherwise specified, effects are resolved in the order they were bestowed.
- +
-  - Discard down to your [[card hand limit|card hand limit]] (usually five). If you are at or below your card hand limit, you can skip this step. +
-  - Resolve effects that occur or end at the end of your turn. Unless otherwise specified, effects are resolved in the order they were bestowed.+
  
 ==== Assists & Interrupts ==== ==== Assists & Interrupts ====
Line 77: Line 99:
 [[Assist|Assists]] and [[Interrupt|Interrupts]] are additional types of cards that you can play when it is not your turn.  Each of these has a Trigger entry with conditions that must be met in order for you to be able to play the card.  Assists trigger off of ally activities while Interrupts trigger off of enemy activities. [[Assist|Assists]] and [[Interrupt|Interrupts]] are additional types of cards that you can play when it is not your turn.  Each of these has a Trigger entry with conditions that must be met in order for you to be able to play the card.  Assists trigger off of ally activities while Interrupts trigger off of enemy activities.
  
-You can only play one Assist per turn and one Interrupt per turn.  You can play both an Assist and an Interrupt in the same turn, and you can play Assists and Interrupts on subsequent turns within the same round. ​ You cannot play Assists or Interrupts when it is your turn (unless otherwise specified)+You can only play one Assist per turn and one Interrupt per turn; outside of the Turn Phase of a round, you can play one each in the Draw Phase and one each in the Discard Phase. You can play both an Assist and an Interrupt in the same turn or Phase, and you can play Assists and Interrupts on subsequent turns within the same round. You cannot play Assists or Interrupts when it is your turn (unless otherwise specified).
- +
-You can also play an Assist and/or an Interrupt when it is not any entity'​s turn if the trigger condition is specified as such (for instance, triggers that fire at the start or end of the round). ​ You can only play one such Assist and/or one such Interrupt before the start of the next entity'​s turn.+
  
-Some Interrupts have the Automatic keyword. ​ Automatic Interrupts fire immediately when the trigger condition is met, even if the entity is unable to play Interrupts for any reason or would prefer not to play the Interrupt. ​ Automatic Interrupts do not count against the one-per-turn limit. ​ Typically, Automatic Interrupts are found on [[Adversary|Adversary]],​ [[Challenge|Challenge]],​ and [[Opponent|Opponent]] cards. ​ Such Interrupts do not fire once the entity is defeated unless otherwise specified.+Some Interrupts have the Automatic keyword. Automatic Interrupts fire immediately when the trigger condition is met, even if the entity is unable to play Interrupts for any reason or would prefer not to play the Interrupt. Automatic Interrupts do not count against the one-per-turn limit. Typically, Automatic Interrupts are found on [[Adversary|Adversary]],​ [[Challenge|Challenge]],​ and [[Opponent|Opponent]] cards. Such Interrupts do not fire after the entity is defeated unless otherwise specified.
  
 ===== Dice ===== ===== Dice =====
Line 108: Line 128:
 ==== Opposed Rolls ==== ==== Opposed Rolls ====
  
-Opposed rolls are used primarily ​to resolve ​Actions and Reactions Typically, a dice entry on an Action ​card played by the attacker is opposed by a dice entry on a Reaction ​card played by the defender. ​ If either the Action or Reaction ​card lacks an entry for the opposed roll, then there is no opposed roll, and the effects of both the Action and Reaction ​cards are applied automatically.+Opposed rolls are often used to resolve ​an Action vs. Reaction. Typically, a dice entry on an Action played by the attacker is opposed by a dice entry on a Reaction played by the defender. If either the Action or Reaction lacks an entry for the opposed roll, then there is no opposed roll, and the effects of both the Action and Reaction are applied automatically ​(and simultaneously).
  
-In combat, Action cards use Hit dice for the opposed roll, while Reaction cards use Miss dice.  So, if an Action has no Hit entry, its effects (and that of the target'​s Reaction) apply automatically ​Likewise,​ if a Reaction card lacks a Miss entry, ​both the Action and Reaction ​cards apply automatically.+Opposed roll entries on Actions are collectively called [[accuracy ​dice|Accuracy Dice]], though they have different names in each scenario. Similarly, ​opposed roll entries on Reactions are collectively called [[evasion ​dice|Evasion Dice]]; these also differ in specific name in each scenarioRefer to the table below for a summary ​of the scenario-specific names. 
 + SCENARIO ACTION REACTION 
 + Combat Hit vs. Miss 
 + Exploration Inflict vs. Endure 
 + Interaction Argue vs. Rebuttal 
 +If both the Action and Reaction ​have opposed roll entries, then the opposed roll takes place. Each player rolls the dice according to the entry on their card; the highest result wins, with ties going in favor of the attacker (the entity playing the Action).
  
-In exploration, Action ​cards use Inflict ​dice for the opposed roll, while Reaction cards use Endure dice.+For examplesay you attack an enemy using a [[weapon|Weapon]]. The Weapon'​s ​Action ​has a Hit entry of 1d8.  Your target plays a Reaction card from their hand with a Miss entry of 1d4. Assuming no modifications to dice number or levels occursyou roll 1d8 and your target rolls 1d4. Your result is a 5 while your opponent gets a 3, so your attack hits.
  
-In interactionAction cards use Argue dice for the opposed roll, while Reaction cards use Rebuttal dice.+Note that some Assists and Interrupts specify that a particular entity wins or loses an opposed roll as part of the Trigger. ​In these casesan opposed roll must actually occur. If there is no opposed roll because either ​the Action or Reaction lack an opposed roll entrythen these Triggers are not met.
  
-If both the Action and Reaction cards have opposed roll entries, then the opposed roll takes place. ​ Each player rolls the dice according to the entry on their card; the highest result wins, with ties going in favor of the attacker (the entity playing the Action). +There exist other opposed rolls in the game beyond that of Actions and Reactions. These are known as [[skill dice|Skill Dice]] and include ​[[Search|Searching]] ​(opposed by [[hidden|Hidden]] entries), [[Lockpick|Lockpicking]] ​(opposed by [[lock|Lock]] entries), [[charisma|Charisma]] (opposed by other Charisma), and [[Acrobatics|Acrobatics]] ​(opposed by other Acrobatics or various difficulty dice). These will be detailed in future sections, but the mechanism functions the same as for other opposed rolls.
- +
-For example, say you attack an enemy using a [[weapon|weapon]] Gear card.  The weapon'​s Action has a Hit entry of 1d8.  Your target plays a Reaction card from their hand with a Miss entry of 1d4.  Assuming no modifications to dice number or levels occurs, you roll 1d8 and your target rolls 1d4.  Your result is a 5 while your opponent gets a 3, so your attack hits. +
- +
-Note that some Assist and Interrupt cards specify that a particular entity wins or loses an opposed roll as part of the Trigger. ​ In these cases, an opposed roll must actually occur. ​ If there is no opposed roll because either the Action or Reaction lack an opposed roll entry, then these Triggers are not met. +
- +
-There exist other opposed rolls in the game beyond that of Actions and Reactions, such as [[Search|Searching]],​ [[Lockpick|Lockpicking]],​ and [[Acrobatics|Acrobatics]]. ​ These will be detailed in future sections, but the mechanism functions the same.+
  
 ==== Damage Rolls ==== ==== Damage Rolls ====
  
-If an Action has a Damage entry, and the attack hits (either because of a successful opposed roll or because there was no opposed roll), then roll the dice specified in the Damage entry. ​ The total is the amount of damage you inflict on your target'​s points.+If an Action has a Damage entry, and the attack hits (either because of a successful opposed roll or because there was no opposed roll), then roll the dice specified in the Damage entry. The total is the amount of damage you inflict on your target'​s points.
  
-Each entity has a certain number of points that determines their ability to continue in the scenario. ​ In combat, these are known as Hit Points (HP); in exploration,​ they are known as Endurance Points (EP); and in interaction,​ they are known as Will Points (WP).  They work the same in each scenario; you typically begin with your maximum amount of points. ​ When you take damage, you subtract the damage total from the number of points. ​ An entity with 0 points remaining is defeated and can no longer contribute to the scenario; it cannot play cards or be targeted by attacks (though it can still draw and discard as normal). ​ Attacks that would reduce an entity'​s points to less than 0 instead reduce to 0 unless otherwise specified (negative points is not generally allowed).+Each entity has a certain number of points that determines their ability to continue in the scenario. In combat, these are known as Hit Points (HP); in exploration,​ they are known as Endurance Points (EP); and in interaction,​ they are known as Will Points (WP). They work the same in each scenario; you typically begin with your maximum amount of points. When you suffer ​damage, you subtract the damage total from the number of points. An entity with 0 points remaining is defeated and can no longer contribute to the scenario; it cannot play cards or be targeted by attacks (though it can still draw and discard as normal). Attacks that would reduce an entity'​s points to less than 0 instead reduce to 0 unless otherwise specified (negative points is not generally allowed).
  
-A Reaction with a Defense entry can reduce the Damage from an Action that hits.  In this case, roll the Defense dice and subtract the result from the Damage roll to generate the new damage total. ​ It is possible for damage to be reduced to 0 in this way, but never less than 0.  This is not considered to be an opposed roll.+A Reaction with a Defense entry can reduce the Damage from an Action that hits. In this case, roll the Defense dice and subtract the result from the Damage roll to generate the new damage total. It is possible for damage to be reduced to 0 in this way, but never less than 0. This is not considered to be an opposed roll.
  
 For example, let's say you play the following Action against a target in combat: For example, let's say you play the following Action against a target in combat:
Line 142: Line 161:
 Defense: 1d6 Defense: 1d6
  
-Because there is no Miss entry on the Reaction, the attack automatically hits.  You roll 1d10 for damage and get a 6; the target rolls 1d6 for defense and gets a 2.  The new damage total is 6 - 2 = 4, so four damage is dealt to the target. ​ If the target had rolled a 6 for defense, then you would have dealt no damage.+Because there is no Miss entry on the Reaction, the attack automatically hits. You roll 1d10 for damage and get a 6; the target rolls 1d6 for defense and gets a 2. The new damage total is 6 - 2 = 4, so four damage is dealt to the target. If the target had rolled a 6 or higher ​for defense, then you would have dealt no damage.
  
-Reactions can also have Damage entries. ​ A Reaction with both Miss (Endure/​Rebuttal) ​and Damage entries can only deal damage if the opposed roll is won (or if there is no opposed roll). ​ A Reaction with a Damage entry and no Miss (Endure/​Rebuttal) ​entry automatically deals the damage back to the attacker.+Reactions can also have Damage entries. A Reaction with both Evasion Dice and Damage entries can only deal damage if the opposed roll is won (or if there is no opposed roll). A Reaction with a Damage entry and no Evasion Dice entry automatically deals the damage back to the attacker.
  
 If both the Action and Reaction have Damage entries, and both apply (either because there was no opposed roll or because of other effects), resolve the Damage simultaneously. If both the Action and Reaction have Damage entries, and both apply (either because there was no opposed roll or because of other effects), resolve the Damage simultaneously.
Line 168: Line 187:
 ==== Enhancement Dice ==== ==== Enhancement Dice ====
  
-Some effects, such as enchantments,​ provide enhancement dice to entries. ​ These additional dice, specified as +XdY, are added to the base roll.  Effects that modify dice number or damage directly do not modify the dice number or level of enhancement dice.  The Piercing attribute does reduce dice level for Defense enhancement dice, however.+Some effects, such as enchantments,​ provide enhancement dice to entries. ​ These additional dice, specified as +XdY, are added to the base roll.  Effects that modify dice number or damage directly do not modify the dice number or level of enhancement dice.  The Piercing attribute does reduce dice level for Defense enhancement dice, however; Piercing values are first applied to enhancement dice, with any leftover Piercing applying to the base Defense.
  
 Enhancement dice on Damage entries have their own damage type separately from that of the base entry. ​ If no type is listed, the enhancement damage is untyped even if the base damage is typed. Enhancement dice on Damage entries have their own damage type separately from that of the base entry. ​ If no type is listed, the enhancement damage is untyped even if the base damage is typed.
  
-Effects that fire based on things such as the minimum or maximum roll result apply only to the base entry before any enhancement dice are applied.  For example, when considering the Special text of the Cudgel'​s Action entry, any enhancement dice are ignored when determining if the maximum Damage roll was achieved.+Effects that fire based on the minimum or maximum roll result apply only to the base entry before any enhancement dice are applied.
  
-Enhancement dice have no effect if there is no base entry.  If a Defense entry is eliminated due to the presence of Piercing effects, enhancement dice to Defense can still apply. ​ However, they are also subjected to the Piercing effect.+Enhancement dice have no effect if there is no base entry.
  
 ==== Special Entries ==== ==== Special Entries ====
Line 188: Line 207:
 When dice are rolled for recovery, the entity that is recovering points rolls the dice (rather than the entity that caused the recovery). When dice are rolled for recovery, the entity that is recovering points rolls the dice (rather than the entity that caused the recovery).
  
-Note that after scenarios complete, points are always restored to their current maximum value, taking into account any [[injury|injuries]] suffered and other modifiers.+Note that after scenarios complete, points are always restored to their current maximum value, taking into account any [[injury|Injuries]] suffered and other modifiers.
  
 ===== Finishing a Scenario ===== ===== Finishing a Scenario =====
  
-After a scenario is resolved, it's time for cleanup. Decks should be put back together, with remaining cards, discard piles, and hands combined and reshuffled. Item cards may be flipped back over for reuse in future scenarios, and unless the game is immediately starting another scenario, players are generally free to swap any equipped Gear. HP/EP/WP are restored to their maximum, though there is no automatic recovery of [[karma|Karma]].+After a scenario is resolved, it's time for cleanup. Decks should be put back together, with remaining cards, discard piles, and hands combined and reshuffled. Item cards may be flipped back over for reuse in future scenarios, and unless the game is immediately starting another scenario, players are generally free to swap any equipped Gear. HP/EP/WP are restored to their maximum, though there is no automatic recovery of [[karma|Karma]]. Stat Tracks are removed until the next scenario.
  
 If the scenario ended in victory, PCs may receive a reward. This can be in the form of Wealth, Gear, Karma, or story consequenes. The DM will detail any such reward received. If the scenario ended in victory, PCs may receive a reward. This can be in the form of Wealth, Gear, Karma, or story consequenes. The DM will detail any such reward received.
  
-On the other hand, scenarios ending in defeat may result in negative consequences. The PCs may simply miss out on a reward or have negative story consequences. In life-or-death scenarios, the consequence of failure means the end of the game as the characters are killed. A common consequence of failure is acquisition of injuries.+On the other hand, scenarios ending in defeat may result in negative consequences. The PCs may simply miss out on a reward or have negative story consequences. In life-or-death scenarios, the consequence of failure means the end of the game as the characters are killed. A common consequence of failure is acquisition of Injuries.
  
 ==== Injuries ==== ==== Injuries ====
  
-When an entity ​obtains an injurythe entity'​s ​maximum HP, EP, and WP are reduced by 5. If an entity ​ever obtains enough Injuries to reduce their base HP, EP, or WP to 0 or less, the entity dies. Base values refers to the raw numbers on a PC's role card or an NPC'​s ​card, prior to any modifiers such as from Gear.+When a PC obtains an Injurytheir maximum HP, EP, and WP are reduced by 5. If a PC ever obtains enough Injuries to reduce their base HP, EP, or WP to 0 or less, they die. Base values refers to the raw numbers on a PC's role card, prior to any modifiers such as from Gear.
  
-PCs may recover from injuries ​by spending 1 Valuable per Injury within a properly-equipped town or city to heal. The cost and time required may change depending on narrative circumstances as determined by the DM. Recovery from Injuries may also be offered as an occasional reward or bonus effect, either within a scenario or upon attaining victory.+PCs may recover from Injuries ​by spending 1 Valuable per Injury within a properly-equipped town or city to heal. The cost and time required may change depending on narrative circumstances as determined by the DM. Recovery from Injuries may also be offered as an occasional reward or bonus effect, either within a scenario or upon attaining victory.
  
 While Injuries can sometimes be obtained within a scenario, they'​re commonly acquired as a consequence of failing a scenario. For instance, PCs may be wounded while fleeing a losing battle. Injuries are also frequently obtained in exploration scenarios, detailed further in chapter 5. While Injuries can sometimes be obtained within a scenario, they'​re commonly acquired as a consequence of failing a scenario. For instance, PCs may be wounded while fleeing a losing battle. Injuries are also frequently obtained in exploration scenarios, detailed further in chapter 5.
 +
 +Enemies of the PCs can also suffer Injuries from various effects (most commonly from [[stat track|Stat Tracks]] in combat). The same rules apply, except that [[mini-boss|Mini-bosses]] instead reduce their values by 10, while [[boss|bosses]] instead reduce their values by 20.
  
 Next: [[Player'​s Guide Chapter 4|Chapter 4: Combat]] Next: [[Player'​s Guide Chapter 4|Chapter 4: Combat]]
player_s_guide_chapter_3.1549383973.txt.gz · Last modified: 2019/02/05 08:26 by triptycho