User Tools

Site Tools


Chapter 7: Gear and Wealth

Prev: Chapter 6: Interaction

This chapter covers how players acquire and spend money, as well as detailing the various types of equipment available for use.


Wealth is an abstract representation of money used for purchasing equipment designed for scenarios. You use Wealth to purchase fighting equipment, healing potions and clothes, enchanted trinkets and specialized skills. Wealth only models those things that can be useful within the confines of the gameplay systems; it does not model any extraneous ownings, such as housing or land.

It may be desirable to have both “rich” and “poor” characters present in a party at the same level, for reasons of flavor or backstory. These characters would possess the same starting Wealth (and presumably earn additional Wealth as normal through play), but the story may have one living as a vagabond in rags while the other a countess of means with plenty of land and servants.

You can deal with this discrepancy in a few ways. Perhaps the countess's assets are difficult or impossible to liquidate, or under the direct control of another family member. Perhaps there is deep family debt that prevents excess money from being diverted into swords and shields and the like. Or perhaps the poor character doesn't really keep money, perhaps as a result of a gambling addiction or by giving anything extra to temples or other causes.

Regardless of the mechanism used, Wealth should only interact with the game when buying or selling Gear, or when otherwise explicitly called for by the DM.

Buying & Selling

Your ability to buy or sell Gear is determined by the DM, though generally you should be able to buy or sell most Gear when within a city of any real size. The primary exception to this is Gear with the Treasure keyword, as these cannot normally be purchased (but can often be sold more freely).

To buy Gear, subtract from your personal Wealth an amount equal to the Wealth entry on the Gear. If you don't have enough Wealth, you can't buy the Gear. Once you've purchased Gear, you can use it however you wish following the appropriate rules for that type of Gear (see below).

To sell Gear, simply turn in the Gear and gain the amount of Wealth listed on the Gear. You do not sell Gear for less than they are worth. If you've sold or otherwise parted ways with Gear, you no longer have access to use it.


Valuables represent precious objects, gems, bags of coin, and similar objects of value that exist primarily to be sold. Valuables are commonly found as rewards in exploration but may be obtained through other means as well.

You can sell 5 Valuables in exchange for 1 Wealth. You may also give away 4 Valuables in exchange for 1 Karma. Finally, you may purchase Valuables at a rate of 3 Valuables for 1 Wealth. This is the only instance in which buying and selling values are separate from each other by default in Triptycho, so make sure you know what you're doing before you swap your hard-earned Wealth for Valuables.

Valuables are also used to recover from Injuries and Diseases. It normally costs 1 Valuable to recover from each Injury or Disease suffered.

The DM may have story applications for Valuables as well. Because of their comparatively lower impact on the game's economy, this can be done long-term with minimal impact on the game's balance. For instance, a Valuable may also serve as a key, a badge of identification, or even an object with specific magical application.


Gear is placed on the table in front of you rather than shuffled into a deck. Gear must be equipped to be used; Gear that is not equipped should be flipped over or removed from the play area to signify that it is not in use.

In order to equip Gear, you must have available a slot in which to equip it. If there are no available slots, you must first unequip another Gear. You can use your Strategy Phase to swap one Gear for another of the same slot, or to simply unequip Gear without replacing it. Outside of scenarios, you can generally rearrange your Gear however you want, though your DM may disallow swapping of certain Gear in some situations (particularly Clothing and Armor).

You can drop held Gear at any time during your turn. This does not take up your Strategy Phase, Action Phase, or any other operation.


Every character has the same base set of slots. They are as follows:

  1. One Item slot
  2. Two hands slots (for Weapons, Shields, Implements, and/or Tools)
  3. One Expertise slot
  4. One Armor slot
  5. One Clothing slot
  6. One Accessory slot (plus more as levels rise)
  7. One Mount slot
  8. One Ritual slot
  9. One Augment slot

Read the sections below for descriptions of the Gear that go into these slots. Some characters may acquire additional slots due to Role abilities, Gear and other card effects, and other bonuses. Rarely slots can even be lost. If a slot is lost, whatever Gear is equipped in it is automatically unequipped. If there are multiple possibilities, the entity losing the slot gets to choose which Gear is unequipped.

When using your Strategy Phase to swap Gear, you can swap Gear in each of your hand slots. For instance, you can swap two Weapons for two other Weapons, or a Weapon and a Shield for a two-handed Weapon, or a two-handed Weapon for a Weapon and a Tool.


Items are a type of Gear that you can play once within scenarios. Typically you have one Item slot available; you can use your Strategy Phase to change which Item you have equipped. Once you use an Item (by playing an entry on it), flip it over to signify that it is no longer available for the remainder of the scenario. You can use your Strategy Phase to swap a used Item for an unused Item. The number of unused Items you have available is only limited by how much Wealth you're willing to invest in them.

Used Items should be flipped back over once the scenario ends. They are not permanently lost. The Wealth investment includes the ability to resupply as needed, including having some extras stored around (though perhaps not readily available). Unique magical Items (such as Treasure) may simply require a bit of time to recharge to be used again.

Items come in three varieties: Combat Items, Exploration Items, and Interaction Items. You can only use Items in their corresponding scenario type. If you enter a scenario with the wrong type of Item in your Item slot, swap it out for a valid Item. If you have no valid Item, your Item slot is empty for the scenario.

For a list of Items available for purchase, see the Analects.


Weapons are generally used to perform Actions in combat. They occupy a hand slot; most PCs have two hand slots available. A Weapon with the two-handed keyword occupies two hand slots.

To equip a Weapon, you must have the proper training. Your class provides your Weapon training. Weapon classifications for training are listed in the Keywords section and include Light Weapon and Heavy Weapon, and Melee Weapon and Ranged Weapon. Each Weapon will have one keyword from each of these pairs (for example: Light Melee Weapon, Heavy Ranged Weapon). You will never see a Light Heavy Weapon or a Melee Ranged Weapon.

Classes can provide generalized training, which includes all Weapons that fit within the listed category. If your class provides training with Light Weapons, then you get training with all Light Weapons, both melee and ranged. If your class provides training with Melee Weapons, then you get training with all Melee Weapons, both light and heavy.

Weapons have additional keywords specifying the type of Weapon, such as Spear or Bow. These keywords have few effects on their own, but some abilities reference these keywords as requirements, restrictions, or conditions for bonuses or penalties.

While a Mount is equipped, you cannot equip or use any two-handed Weapon unless otherwise specified.

Unless otherwise specified, entries on Weapons can only be used in combat scenarios.

For a list of Weapons available for purchase, see the Analects.


Implements model a variety of magical devices used by spellcasters. They occupy one hand slot and are generally used for Actions in combat, though many also include other entries as well.

To equip an Implement, you must have the proper training. Implements come in a variety of classifications, such as Focuses and Talismans.

Unless otherwise specified, entries on Implements can only be used in combat scenarios.

Stronger Implements have a Level entry, which provides a minimum level requirement in order to equip the Implement. Such Implements may also have a Magic entry, which is used for shuffling Magic cards into your combat deck. See the section on Enchantments for more information about the Magic entry.

For a list of Implements available for purchase, see the Analects.


Shields occupy a hand slot and typically provide bonuses to Miss entries in combat. Many also include an Action for offensive use.

To equip a Shield, you must have the proper training. Shield classifications for training include Light Shields and Heavy Shields. If your class provides training for all Shields, then you can equip any Shield regardless of its classification; however, a Shield with the Heavy Shield keyword is almost always superior to its nearest Light Shield counterpart.

Unless otherwise specified, entries on Shields can only be used in combat scenarios.

For a list of Shields available for purchase, see the Analects.


Armor typically provides Defense entries to your base Reaction in combat. It occupies the Armor slot, of which each character has one. You cannot equip more than one Armor at a time, and you cannot swap your Armor within a combat scenario. Changing Armor takes time and maybe help from others; you should ask your DM if it's okay for you to change Armor even outside of scenarios.

To equip Armor, you must have the proper training, provided by your class. Armor classifications, listed in the Keywords, include Light, Medium, and Heavy. The heavier the classification, the stronger the Armor; there is generally no advantage to wearing Armor of a lower class in battle if you have access to Armor of a higher class, except that Heavy Armor often includes a penalty to Skill.

Unless otherwise specified, entries on Armor can only be used in combat scenarios.

For a list of Armor available for purchase, see the Analects.


Clothing occupies the Clothing slot, of which each character has one. You cannot equip more than one Clothing at a time, and you usually cannot swap your Clothing within a scenario (except for some exploration scenarios). Because changing Clothing can take time and, more notably, have rather significant social effects depending on where you do it, you should ask your DM before you swap Clothing even outside of scenarios.

Clothing is usually worn underneath your Armor, so there is no restriction or penalty on having both Clothing and Armor equipped. Some Clothing may make more sense worn outside the Armor; if the card does not specify that it is worn outside of Armor, ask your DM if it's okay to be worn as such. If your Clothing is worn under your Armor, then you must be able to change your Armor in order to change your Clothing (which can take a notable amount of time, depending on the Armor and help available).

You are not generally considered to be naked if you do not have Clothing Gear equipped; rather, you are most likely wearing mundane clothes that have no special effects. No training is required to equip Clothing.

Clothing Gear can have a fairly wide variety of potential effects. It is often beneficial to own multiple Clothing Gear, equipping whichever is most useful for the situations you expect to be dealing with at that time.

For a list of Clothing available for purchase, see the Analects.


Tools occupy a hand slot. They are commonly used for dealing with terrain and illumination in combat and exploration, but specialized Tools have other effects. No training is required to equip Tools.

Tool entries that can only be used within certain scenarios will list the type of scenario in the entry. A Tool may have entries for multiple different types of scenarios.

For a list of Tools available for purchase, see the Analects.


Accessories occupy an Accessory slot, of which you start with one and gain additional slots as your level rises (and from other means). Accessories can have a wide variety of effects in any scenario and can be swapped normally. No training is required to equip Accessories.

The limitation of Accessory slots is not necessarily a hard restriction on what can be worn, but rather is a limit of how many benefits you can reasonably make use of at a time. Your character is welcome to wear all manner of magical doodads and trinkets, but only a limited number can be considered “equipped” at a time for purposes of gaining their beneficial effects. In other words, Accessory slots shouldn't be used as an artificial limiter of story descriptions, but rather as a pure gameplay mechanic only.

Because Accessories cover a wide variety of things, you may find yourself with multiple Accessories equipped that would realistically be in conflict. In such a case, you should reflavor the description of one of the Accessories to be a similar but different object. For example, it is possible to equip two Accessories that are described as hats. In this case, you should reflavor one of the hats to a headband or earrings or similar object. However, if you truly wish to wear two hats, and your DM is fine with it, don't let this paragraph stop you.

You cannot equip more than one of any particular Accessory at a time.

For a list of Accessories available for purchase, see the Analects.


Expertise represents special skills and knowledge, along with the provisions required to make use of them. Each character has two Expertise slots available, which can be swapped at will outside of scenarios or in the Strategy Phase (one at a time) within scenarios.

Expertise provides a base set of options, frequently Actions and Reactions, that you can use at will so long as you have the Expertise equipped. The exact narrative explanation for equipping an Expertise differs greatly depending on the Expertise; it may include object use, such as lockpicks or musical instruments, or it could simply be a mental shift of focus, realigning oneself for a different approach.

Purchasing an Expertise represents acquiring the necessary instruction and provisions, along with any related guild, college, or social memberships in order to keep in practice. Selling an Expertise involves selling off remaining provisions, abandoning membership, and redirecting the saved funds into something new. Generally speaking, the DM should not put harsh restrictions on the buying or selling of Expertise. If acquisition of new Expertise would seem to take more time than a PC might be able to spend, consider retroactively adjusting the story so that the PC has been working on this endeavor for some time, and the purchase represents the final step.

In order to equip an Expertise, you must have the proper training. Your Craft provides training for the various types of Exploration Expertise, while your Profession provides training for the various types of Interaction Expertise. You do not need any special training for expertise cards with the keywords “Exploration Expertise” or “Interaction Expertise” as these are general cards available to everyone.

Exploration Expertise training classifications include Navigation, Mysticism, Survival, and Mechanical. Interaction Expertise training classifications include Diplomatic, Streetwise, Illusion, and Thaumaturgy.

See the Analects for lists of Exploration Expertise and Interaction Expertise available for purchase.


Mounts occupy the Mount slot, of which you have one. Mounts include anything you can ride, whether a living beast or magical contraption. Each Mount provides its own benefits; they are often combat-focused, though many also help in exploration scenarios. No training is required to equip a Mount.

While a Mount is equipped, you cannot equip or use any two-handed Weapon unless otherwise specified.

In combat, the position of Mounts should be tracked even when not equipped. Mounts will follow their owner about whenever possible, moving at the same time as the owning entity; however, any restrictions they confer on movement (such as climbing) also apply when they move about on their own, which can prevent them from following. Mounts can only be equipped if they occupy the same section as their owner. Some Mounts may have special exceptions to these rules.

If a Mount and its owner become separated, it is often possible for the owner to call the Mount on their turn; the Mount may then move toward the owner. Whether or not this is possible and the path the Mount takes are determined by the DM on a case-by-case basis.

For a list of Mounts available for purchase, see the Analects.

Enchantments, Rituals, Augments, and Magic

Enchantments, Rituals, and Augments are special Gear that modify entries on other Gear. Typically they add enhancement dice to entries on the modified Gear. They have Level entries, which present the minimum level required to equip them. While a character can certainly acquire higher-level Enchantments, Rituals, and Augments, they lack the experience and personal power to make proper use of them. All of these are inherently magical in some manner; character level growth models not just their worldly experience, but also their strengthening ability to tap into their internal magical power, which in turn powers this type of Gear.

Of course the DM may allow a character to ignore the listed level requirement. Doing so may result in an overpowered character, however, as these Gear tend to be relatively cheap for the power improvement they provide. This should only be done in special circumstances, such as for a rare and powerful reward, as compensation for some other loss, or if the DM is otherwise running a higher-difficulty game.


Enchantments are placed on Weapons, Armor, and Shields and should be placed underneath the Gear card they are modifying. Enchantments can be freely moved to another valid Gear card when at a location where Enchantments can be purchased. Only one Enchantment can be placed onto a single Gear card.

Weapon Enchantments add to the Hit and Damage entries for Weapons and frequently include additional effects. Armor Enchantments provide bonuses to your base Reaction. Shield Enchantments add to the Hit and Damage entries to offensive Shield use and usually provide other specific bonuses as well.

Rituals and Augments

Rituals and Augments apply to the character as a whole. You can have only one Ritual and one Augment equipped at a time, and Rituals and Augments can only be swapped after a rest. The equipped Ritual modifies any Exploration Expertise equipped; likewise the equipped Augment modifies any Interaction Expertise equipped. Rituals and Augments usually also provide a bonus to Stat Track base values within the corresponding scenarios.


The Magic entry gives a number that represents the total number and/or strength of Magic cards that can be shuffled into the corresponding deck. Magic cards each have a Magic requirement on them; the total Magic cost of all Magic cards in an individual deck must not be greater than the highest individual Magic entry on the corresponding Gear card (for which the PC meets the level and training requirements). The highest-Magic Enchantment need not be on an equipped Gear card; however, for Rituals and Augments, use the Magic entry for the currently equipped Ritual and Augment respectively.

For example, if a PC owns a Weapon Enchantment with Magic 3, then that player can choose three Magic 1 cards, a Magic 2 card and a Magic 1 Magic card, or a single Magic 3 card to shuffle into their combat deck. Owning an Armor Enchantment with Magic 2 provides no additional benefit in terms of the number or strength of Magic cards the player can shuffle into their combat deck.

Likewise, if the same PC equips a Ritual with Magic 2, then that player can choose two Magic 1 cards or one Magic 2 card to shuffle into their exploration deck. Having a Weapon Enchantment with Magic 3 has no effect on the available Magic for exploration since Enchantments only apply to combat.

When Magic values change, the player may need to make immediate changes to their deck contents depending on circumstances. See the entry on Magic for details on this.

Extra Effect

Weapon and Armor Enchantments, Rituals, Augments, Implements, and Magic cards include Extra Effect text entries. These provide bonus abilities you can use, either in scenarios or during the narrative portion of the game. Unless otherwise indicated, you can use these abilities once per rest if you have the Gear equipped (or in your deck for Magic cards). Having multiple copies of the same Extra Effect source (equipped or in your deck) does not grant additional uses of this extra ability.

Some Extra Effects are very specific in their mechanical function when used within scenarios. Others are much more open-ended, expected to be used primarily in the narrative portion of the game. For the latter, the DM will determine if and how to apply these when used within a scenario. This may result in the use of Improvisation or other specific bonuses if a DM decides to allow it. Players should be specific in how they're intending to apply such an Extra Effect. The DM may deny any in-scenario use of Extra Effects that do not detail their mechanical effects in order to avoid confusion and keep the game moving along.

Unless specified in the text or used as part of Improvisation, no particular play (such as a Strategy or Action) is required to activate an Extra Effect within a scenario (Magic card type is ignored).

Within scenarios. a PC may use an applicable Extra Effect of any Magic card in any of their decks without having to have the card in hand. It is recommended to copy the Extra Effect text of Magic cards you've included in your decks onto an index card or other easily-referenced material so that you always have a list of your available options in front of you.

Each Extra Effect can be used once per rest unless it declares that its effect is constant or has unlimited use, in which case the effect is always active or may be used without limit, respectively. Many Extra Effects that are activated rather than constant list a duration for how long the effect lasts.

See the Analects for lists of Enchantments, Rituals, and Augments available for purchase.


Karma is an additional “currency” possessed by each PC. It represents a sort of cosmic reward (or punishment) for actions taken, along with a bit of divine luck. Karma is generally gained by taking clearly good actions, such as putting yourself in harm's way to rescue someone while having no prior obligation to do so. Karma is lost by engaging in evil actions, such as stealing from innocents.

Some particularly powerful cards in your deck may require the expenditure of Karma; this is the most common way to make use of Karma you have gained through prior actions. New characters typically begin with 1 Karma. Karma never “resets” unless otherwise specified and is continually gained, lost, or spent as you progress through the game, making decisions and taking actions.

Karma is not intended to be a mechanism for controlling role-playing or story progression. It should not be used to punish players for “misbehaving.” Instead, Karma should be granted as a reward for completing scenarios or lost as a cost for taking shortcuts or acquiring easy Wealth.

Next: Chapter 8: Assets and Property

player_s_guide_chapter_7.txt · Last modified: 2019/05/17 08:27 by triptycho